Watermelon + chicken = trust

When I sat down with Wesley, I wanted to know what he thought were common stereotypes that society has toward Black people.

Wesley made it clear that he was sharing his perspective as a “mixed light-skinned black man.”

“I don’t want to speak to the struggle of all African Americans at large, because I am somewhat privileged in my lightness,” he said.  “I can’t speak for all the brothers and sisters out there.”

Remember, not all stereotypes are bad.  Nigerian author, Chimamanda Adichie  said that the problem with stereotypes is not that they are untrue, but that they are incomplete.  They make one story become the only story.

And apparently there is a link between watermelon, chicken and trust.

If you’re new to this blog because of your connection to Wesley, hey!  Hello!  Welcome!

I hope you scroll back to my my first post entitled Waking up, which explains my purpose for writing what I’m writing.  Also, if the concept of otherizing is new to you, check out this video.  If you are more of a “just let me read the definition” sort of person, you might appreciate this post.

Stick with me; we have lots to learn from listening to others.

Leave a Reply

